Main menu

NALACS Thesis Award in film theatre Rialto

On Friday, March 31st, 2017, the Netherlands Association for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (NALACS), organizes a festive network event in film theatre Rialto in Amsterdam. 

The event is devoted to the annual award for the best thesis written on a Latin American or Caribbean topic at a Dutch university in the academic year 2015-2016. The nominated master students will all give a short presentation on their thesis, after which the jury will award the prize for best thesis and, this year for the first time, the best presentation. The program will start at 3pm with the screening of Consuming the Future, a short film by Jaime Hoogesteger, President of NALACS, and a response and discussion by social scientist and activist, Rosabla Icaza Garza. After the ceremony, from 5pm onwards, there will be drinks and bites in the bar of Rialto. Entrance is free.

The Netherlands Association for Latin American and Caribbean Studies is a Dutch platform aimed at promoting understanding, knowledge, and debate on Latin American and Caribbean issues. During this afternoon, NALACS puts a new generation of researchers in the spotlight during its annual thesis award ceremony. Environmental scientist and NALACS President, Jaime Hoogesteger, will start the afternoon with a welcome speech and the screening of Consuming the Future (2017), a short documentary he produced on groundwater overexploitation and agro-export in the Mexican state of Guanajuato. After the film, Rosabla Icaza Garza, affiliated with the International Institute of Social Studies of the Erasmus University Rotterdam, will provide a brief response and lead a discussion with the audience.

After the discussion, the nominated students will all give a short presentation in Pecha Kucha style on their thesis. The nominees are (in alphabetical order): Pablo Campaña (UvA), Laura A. Garcia (TU Delft), Linda de Geus (TU Delft), Adam Moore (UvA), Angelica Neiszer (UvA), Débora Povoa (UvA) Hannah Lina Schütz (Leiden) and Eva Maria van der Woude (Leiden). Following their presentations, the three-member jury, consisting of Rosabla Icaza Garza, Alexander Jachnow and Rosanne Tromp, will award the prestigious prize for the best thesis. This year there will also be, for the first time, an award for the best Pecha Kucha presentation. The award ceremony will, then, by followed by Friday afternoon drinks and bites (‘vrijmibo’) in the bar of Rialto, where there is room to talk and network with other Latin Americanists and Caribbeanists. The entire program is free of charge and open for all to attend. Only joining for the drinks and bites after the ceremony is possible as well.

The ceremony of the NALACS thesis award is this year sponsored by the Department of Media Studies of the University of Amsterdam and the Department of Environmental Sciences of Wageningen University.

NALACS Thesis Award 2015-2016

Date:                Friday March 31, 2017

Time:                3-7pm (doors open: 2.30pm; start program: 3pm, start drinks: 5pm)

Location:          Rialto (Ceintuurbaan 338, 1072 GN Amsterdam)


Entrance:          Free of charge and open for all to attend, both to the ceremony (3pm) and the drinks afterward (5pm) / No registration needed, just come and join!