NALACS Thesis Award 2018-2019
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-483,bridge-core-2.3.3,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-21.9,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0,vc_responsive
Past Events
About This Project

We are very pleased to invite you all to attend the Nalacs Thesis Award 2018-2019 on Thursday September 24, now completely online. Come and join the award ceremony for the best MA thesis written on Latin America and the Caribbean, including Pecha Kucha presentations of the nominated students. This online event is free of charge and open for all to join!

INTRODUCTION (17.00 hrs)

Welcome by Nalacs board members, who will be the hosts of the event.


This year the NALACS board wants to celebrate the life and work of our late friend and board member Ralph Sprenkels with a short video at the beginning of the thesis award.

THESIS AWARD CEREMONY (17.15-19.00 hrs)

With Pecha Kucha presentations by the nominees!

  1. Bruna Martinez with the thesis ‘Shattering the mask of silence: Confronting Brazilian whiteness and patriarchy through black feminism and the voices of Karol Conká, MC Carol and Elza Soares’ (Institute of Social Studies (ISS) – The Hague)
  2. Hannah Kabelka with the thesis ‘Policy enactment in schools: A culture of gender (in)equality. Exploring the role of the school in the transformation of youth’s gender-related beliefs, expectations and interactions in ‘post-conflict’ Medellín’ (University of Amsterdam)
  3. Ricardo Avella with the thesis ‘Overcoming the Paradox of Plenty: Resource Extraction and Urbanism in the Venezuelan Guayana’ (TU Delft)
  4. Iris Schuitemaker with the thesis ‘Indigenous peoples’ socio-legal viewpoints in the hybrid governance arrangement of the Amarakaeri Communal Reserve, Peru’ (University of Amsterdam)
  5. Nicole Medina Collazo with the thesis ‘Sustainable food future: Discourses on agri-food politics of the Argentinian G20 presidency’ (University of Amsterdam)
  6. Pablo Muñoz with the thesis ‘Looking for alternatives in the city of the slopes. Housing as a process to reduce socio-spatial segregation in Lima, Peru’ (TU Delft)
  7. Daria Barsukova with the thesis ‘Mex and the City: WOMEN’S PERCEPTIONS OF UNSAFETY IN THE STREETS OF MEXICO CITY’ (Utrecht University)
  8. Naomi Robertson with the thesis ‘“I escaped from the hospital; I went out so quietly”: Women’s use of agency in response to mistreatment during maternity care in El Alto, Bolivia’ (University of Amsterdam)

The award for the best thesis as well as the award for the best presentation will be decided by a jury consisting of Fernando González Rodriguez (CEDLA – University of Amsterdam), Mirtha Lorena Del Castillo Durand (winner of the NALACS Thesis Award 2017-2018, CEDLA – University of Amsterdam), and Marjo de Theije (Professor of Anthropology and Resources, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam).


Zoom Meeting – More information will follow soon!


The language of the thesis award will be English.


This event is free for all to join.